Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Sun Jan 10, 2021 7:59 am

Here's a new piece of work. I created this using the iterator to tile images of windows into rectangular planes. You need a lot of discipline to keep within the 3d realm and it is definitely not real-time - render out only.

[media]
Sadler
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Sun Jan 10, 2021 9:48 am

Awesome and inspiring!

Great work Sadler!
Terry Payman
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:15 am
Location: UK

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Sun Jan 10, 2021 4:08 pm

Yes - very excellent.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:39 am

that's really great, congratulations !
damstraversaz
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Mon Jan 18, 2021 11:52 am

Thanks folks, much appreciated!
Sadler
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Mon Jan 18, 2021 4:01 pm

Sadler wrote: it is definitely not real-time - render out only.

Remember that you can always set the project to a lower resolution to increase the frame rate, or even better, in the Graphics Resolution dialog, select the "Use size of Magic Window" option so that when you are editing, it uses a very low resolution, but then you can go into fullscreen mode temporarily to see things at a higher resolution.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Creating Buildings with the Iterator

Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:26 pm

Thanks Eric. That's certainly worth keeping in mind.

In this instance, with the rotating buildings, reducing (or increasing) the resolution destroys the effect. All the windows get crushed together since I did not use image scaling on the images for the window tiles. They have their own aspect ratio and there are up to three layers for each window in certain bits which are a little easier to match up when they're not auto-scaled.

Also, even on a RTX2080 with throttling set to 1 I'm getting just 5fps. Reducing the resolution down doesn't change that since it seems to be the number of iterations (160 per wall) that is slowing it down. I needed 20 floors on each building so that the ends aren't visible when a wall is coming in to view. So, looking at the GPU and CPU load, it seem Magic is CPU bound with one logical core at full capacity and the GPU bouncing between 30% and 50%.

gpu_bound.jpg
gpu_bound.jpg (113.59 KiB) Viewed 474 times

I'm sure there are a number of other ways I could optimise it to run at a higher frame rate.
Sadler
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Return to User-Submitted Videos

© 2021 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly