Previous topicNext topic

Crash on export

Questions, comments, feedback, etc.
stixnskin

Crash on export

Post by stixnskin »

I'm new to this and ran into a problem. The first time I created something and exported everything was fine, a little 1 minute short trying to get me feet wet. Now when I start things get odd fast. First it doesn't recognize my Apollo interface so nothing plays. Toggle to built in and back and everything is good. After working for a little while the software becomes sluggish. Clicking to change parameter means waiting for it to allow me to change anything. I had the activity monitor up and I'm at 16% max. I'm running a mac mini, 2.3 intel I7 with 16 GB of ram. I can almost deal with the performance because I can still write but when I try to export It crashes the program. Any help would be appreciated.

Forgot to mention. on El Capitain
Magic
Site Admin

Re: Crash on export

Post by Magic »

If your audio interface only works "sometimes", it could mean that another application is preventing Magic from accessing it properly. Are you running any other audio apps at the same time?

Sluggishness generally happens when your project becomes too complicated for your computer to handle. Keep in mind that Magic is a high-performance application, and it relies heavily on the graphics card. The computer you mentioned has a bit of an older graphics card (Intel HD 4000). There may not be enough GPU memory or power to keep up with a large amount of modules. Crashes during exporting are rare, but they almost always mean that the GPU has run out of memory.

Can you post some screenshots of your scenes, including all the modules in them? This will help me see what's going on.

Just fyi, one of my computers is similar to yours (late 2011 Mac Mini), and it is very slow even compared with my slightly newer mid-2012 MacBook Pro.
stixnskin

Post by stixnskin »