Previous topicNext topic

automation

Questions, comments, feedback, etc.
Post Reply
stefanocps
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2024 8:49 pm

automation

Post by stefanocps »

hello just downloaded the demo and andtrying to understand if it is for me
At glance i like it,but there is something i need to know before all
Is it possible to create a sort of automation,where i can tell to a certain fx to change a certain parameter from x at time 0 to y at time 1?
this is fundamental for my need, need to know before i dive in the sw
thanks a lot
Sadler
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: automation

Post by Sadler »

Yes, there are simple ways and more complex ways to automate to time (and midi/osc, audio). The simplest and arguably powerful is to use the playlist. At the module level, where appropriate, parameter modifiers default to 1 second and you adjust it up or down to shorten or lengthen the period. If you're looking for a timeline, well, that doesn't exist in Magic. Expressions are a little more involved but there's some guidance about how to use them for timing in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=2950

You can find a few of my tutorials here: viewtopic.php?t=2390 If you're interested.
stefanocps
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2024 8:49 pm

Re: automation

Post by stefanocps »

Thanks
Actually i want tò use It in combination with Abeton.is there any facilities tò do this?
Sadler
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: automation

Post by Sadler »

Midi and perhaps OSC but not Ableton Link. You'd need the Performer version.
stefanocps
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2024 8:49 pm

Re: automation

Post by stefanocps »

where do i find the "performer" version?
stefanocps
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2024 8:49 pm

Re: automation

Post by stefanocps »

ok i see..it is just the full version
sameloop
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:58 pm

Re: automation

Post by sameloop »

stefanocps wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 7:59 pm Thanks
Actually i want tò use It in combination with Abeton.is there any facilities tò do this?
I use LoopMIDI for communication to and from Magic and Ableton:

https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/loopmidi.html

This simple program creates a system MIDI connection between any program that supports MIDI (DAWs, Magic - but not the basic version, the Performer version).

Works very well, and it means, for example, that you could have a Live track controlling a module in Magic, or a knob from a MIDI controller in either Magic or Ableton that controls a module in Magic, and at the same time, for example, a filter in Live.
Post Reply