Previous topicNext topic

Opacity On effects

Suggestions for new features for Magic.
Post Reply
DACHHU
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:55 pm

Opacity On effects

Post by DACHHU »

Opacity parameter on every effect would be nice, or 'wet/dry'.
Find myself creating lots of extra blend/mix modules to get the right look sometimes.

:)
Magic
Site Admin
Posts: 3443
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by Magic »

Ok, thanks. That's probably doable for most of the effects modules.
damstraversaz
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by damstraversaz »

I'm totally agree ! that's will be very useful
neoz
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by neoz »

Absolutely!
Fractal Grinder
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by Fractal Grinder »

THISSSSS!!!!! would be awesome. I know you guys are busy but yeah, this is a great request.
artnik
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by artnik »

+1
Terry Payman
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:15 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by Terry Payman »

+1
TanookiMonk
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 12:27 am

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by TanookiMonk »

Yeah +1 For sure !
Sadler
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Opacity On effects

Post by Sadler »

This is reasonably simple for ISF (and likewise GLSL shaders) but tedious to go through all files, and for the built-in effects these will get overwritten on any new, update or re-install, and of course many built-in effects are not ISF.

Add a float parameter (e.g. 'dry') then add this line to the end of the main:

Code: Select all

	// wet is the output rgba of the effect
	gl_FragColor = mix(IMG_NORM_PIXEL(inputImage,uv,1.0),wet, dry);
+1 if automatically applied to all FX and bypassed when the effect is completely dry.

I've done this with a few modules but make sure to default the parameter value to fully wet - to not change your existing comps.

This brings me to a related consideration: when live, I often want to add nodes into the mix which, for many effects, is abrupt and jarring. I will often add an unconnected node, configure it to leave the output unaffected, then connect it (cut then paste insert on a noodle). It takes time to do this and it would be good to have and option to insert nodes completely dry in certain situations.
Post Reply