Previous topicNext topic

Adobe Media Encoder

Questions, comments, feedback, etc.
Post Reply
MIDI M
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:52 pm

Adobe Media Encoder

Post by MIDI M »

Hey,
I am new to Magic and pretty blown away by the possibilities and the simplicity of the programm(As a brief "hello" from my side).

The question I have: I am currently cleaning up my SSD and deleted all of the Adobe Suite Programs since I found them mostly too expensive. Then I saw the Adobe media encoder I neve had used before and I wondered if it is of any use to me. For example having a better workflow when exporting Videos from DaVinci Resolve to Magic or the other way. I am just curious because there are so many different containers and codecs and alpha options and I feel a bit lost :geek:
So, is there any actual benefit in keeping that Adobe Encoder?
Magic
Site Admin
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Adobe Media Encoder

Post by Magic »

If you are going to be playing a lot of video files in Magic then you might want to use Adobe to encode them into the Hap format. But maybe Resolve can do that already, I'm not 100% sure.
MIDI M
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:52 pm

Re: Adobe Media Encoder

Post by MIDI M »

Thx, thats good to know, cause Resolve can't do that..

For future readers: The media encoder(at least the 2018 version) will need this addon for hap support.
https://github.com/disguise-one/hap-enc ... /README.md

Rather unrelated question, but I dont wanna start another thread - I noticed a significant GPU Load (about 30%) when I turn off double buffering without any modules connected. Is that normal?
Magic
Site Admin
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Adobe Media Encoder

Post by Magic »

Double buffering off means much higher frame rate means higher GPU load.
Post Reply