Ableton Channel Support

Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:25 am

I would like to be able to route audio from a channel in Ableton Live directly into an audio source in MMV. I run a live looping show and would like to be able to design custom visuals for the audio on each ableton channel. I have tried several virtual routing programs to no avail.

Thank you for considering! I think this is a natural use for MMV and some sort of support would be outstanding.
IvanJones
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:25 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:09 pm

Are you routing Audio or MIDI or both?

I am in the same boat, and I almost got there.
Are you trying to route tracks directly out of Ableton? Or just from the Audio interface (I use a Focusrite scarlett 2nd gen)? The audio interface matters. I got it to route into Magic with no lag, but there was a static pop noise. I tried a different option in magic for the interface (direct monitoring?) and it sounded great but had an unusable amount of lag into Magic.

I just want to route tracks directly into Magic with no sound quality loss and no time lag.

I'm looking into VB- Cable now.
loopdaflar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:59 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:40 am

For instance, I am using Ableton as a looper for my instruments. I have 8 channels in ableton which are essentially loop banks. I would love to be able to route a signal from each of those individual tracks for use as an audio source in MMV.
IvanJones
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:25 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:10 pm

Bump. Any chance of this happening or should I just fugghedaboutit?
IvanJones
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:25 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:19 pm

I don't know or own Ableton so I downloaded free Cakewalk to test this. With the help of VoiceMeeter I managed to route separate tracks from that DAW into Magic. Just audio.

voicemeeter.png
voicemeeter.png (13.49 KiB) Viewed 2543 times

I piped them into corresponding Waveforms each with a different source. I could see the different channels in the resultant visuals but I don't know what I'm doing audio/DAW-wise.
Sadler
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:15 pm

This is fantastic! I have toiled with VM and VBCable with little success. Can you show me your Voicemeeter routings? I have been perplexed by this for quite some time.
IvanJones
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:25 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sun Feb 23, 2020 7:08 pm

Sorry, I've since uninstalled Cakewalk and VoiceMeeter. What I remember is that CW allowed me to enable 4 of 8 outputs to VM (not sure if mono or stereo) in driver preferences. I wasn't sure which routes would work so I just cycled through what was available in Magic and in the CW track list. I used VM potato virtual outputs only. I didn't spend a lot of time testing it.
Sadler
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Mon Feb 24, 2020 4:17 pm

Ableton is too specific for us to support when there are plenty of general-purpose audio routing solutions that work well.

Here is the main thread for this topic in case you haven't seen it: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2843
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Ableton Channel Support

Sat Sep 26, 2020 4:06 pm

@loopdaflar, Can you please share how you routed Scarlett audio to Magic? The Scarlett appears in the Input Sources list, but I believe it's only MIDI (as it allows selection of channels 0-16).

loopdaflar wrote:Are you routing Audio or MIDI or both?

I am in the same boat, and I almost got there.
Are you trying to route tracks directly out of Ableton? Or just from the Audio interface (I use a Focusrite scarlett 2nd gen)? The audio interface matters. I got it to route into Magic with no lag, but there was a static pop noise. I tried a different option in magic for the interface (direct monitoring?) and it sounded great but had an unusable amount of lag into Magic.

I just want to route tracks directly into Magic with no sound quality loss and no time lag.

I'm looking into VB- Cable now.
bigjoescientist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:52 am

Return to Feature Requests

© 2020 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly