Magic

Music Visuals
https://magicmusicvisuals.com/forums/

"Input source" problems

https://magicmusicvisuals.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2393

Page 1 of 1

"Input source" problems

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2020 3:36 am
by Espen
I am trying to get Magic to pick up "input source" signals from other software, like VLC, Reaper, and Firefox. The only thing that seems to work (after the 2.0 update) is if i use the "ASIO4ALL" driver (at least it works with Magic as long as i use a regular "jack" cable. I tried downloading 2 different ASIO drivers to get it to work with the HDMI cable; "ASIO2WASAPI" gave VERY distorted sound, and "FlexASIO", which gives good sound, and works with my HDMI connection, as well as showing up in the "input source" window of Magic - BUT the audio signals (from FLEXASIO) dont get processed inside Magic... Anyone have a solution for this :?:

Re: "Input source" problems

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:31 am
by Sadler
Have a read through this...
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10

ASIO drivers are intended to reduce latency from hardware and won't help with audio from other applications.

Re: "Input source" problems

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:46 am
by Espen
Sadler wrote:Have a read through this...
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10

ASIO drivers are intended to reduce latency from hardware and won't help with audio from other applications.


Ok..? IDK... But i did find out that i get Magic to pick up on audio signals if i choose "ASIO4ALL" in the "input souces". At least it works for Reaper, even if i dont use ASIO drivers in Reaper settings. Have not tried it with other aplications yet...

Re: "Input source" problems

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:11 pm
by Sadler
Well, IDK Reaper but I guess it is acting like an ASIO device somehow and therefore Magic hears it through ASIO4All. VLC and Firefox aren't ASIO devices - you'll need a software audio router for those and other apps.

Re: "Input source" problems

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:21 am
by Espen
Sadler wrote:Well, IDK Reaper but I guess it is acting like an ASIO device somehow and therefore Magic hears it through ASIO4All. VLC and Firefox aren't ASIO devices - you'll need a software audio router for those and other apps.


Actually... As long as i choose "FLEXASIO" in "Input Sources", it picks up on the sound from Firefox just fine - provided i use the aux cable (it does not work with the HDMI or optical cables). If i choose "ASIO4ALL", it stops the sound... Oh man, LOL! This has bothered me since version 2.0 came out :roll: Finally it works :P

All times are UTC
Page 1 of 1