"Input source" problems

Wed Dec 09, 2020 3:36 am

I am trying to get Magic to pick up "input source" signals from other software, like VLC, Reaper, and Firefox. The only thing that seems to work (after the 2.0 update) is if i use the "ASIO4ALL" driver (at least it works with Magic as long as i use a regular "jack" cable. I tried downloading 2 different ASIO drivers to get it to work with the HDMI cable; "ASIO2WASAPI" gave VERY distorted sound, and "FlexASIO", which gives good sound, and works with my HDMI connection, as well as showing up in the "input source" window of Magic - BUT the audio signals (from FLEXASIO) dont get processed inside Magic... Anyone have a solution for this :?:
Espen
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:22 pm

Re: "Input source" problems

Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:31 am

Have a read through this...
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10

ASIO drivers are intended to reduce latency from hardware and won't help with audio from other applications.
Sadler
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: "Input source" problems

Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:46 am

Sadler wrote:Have a read through this...
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10

ASIO drivers are intended to reduce latency from hardware and won't help with audio from other applications.


Ok..? IDK... But i did find out that i get Magic to pick up on audio signals if i choose "ASIO4ALL" in the "input souces". At least it works for Reaper, even if i dont use ASIO drivers in Reaper settings. Have not tried it with other aplications yet...
Espen
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:22 pm

Re: "Input source" problems

Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:11 pm

Well, IDK Reaper but I guess it is acting like an ASIO device somehow and therefore Magic hears it through ASIO4All. VLC and Firefox aren't ASIO devices - you'll need a software audio router for those and other apps.
Sadler
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: "Input source" problems

Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:21 am

Sadler wrote:Well, IDK Reaper but I guess it is acting like an ASIO device somehow and therefore Magic hears it through ASIO4All. VLC and Firefox aren't ASIO devices - you'll need a software audio router for those and other apps.


Actually... As long as i choose "FLEXASIO" in "Input Sources", it picks up on the sound from Firefox just fine - provided i use the aux cable (it does not work with the HDMI or optical cables). If i choose "ASIO4ALL", it stops the sound... Oh man, LOL! This has bothered me since version 2.0 came out :roll: Finally it works :P
Espen
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:22 pm

Return to General Discussion

© 2021 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly