Need Help!

Sun May 17, 2020 4:31 pm

Hi.

Sorry I'm new on this, How do I upload Midi File? I want to use the MIDI Piano sample project but I could not load the midi file on the input source. I tried to convert the midi file into mp3 using https://www.zamzar.com/ but it won't play as I do the export.


here is my screen shot error.

Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 12.28.34 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 12.28.34 AM.png (365.4 KiB) Viewed 417 times



I hope someone could help me.

Thanks
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Sun May 17, 2020 7:04 pm

I’m guessing that you have the Studio edition. You need the Performer edition for MIDI functionality.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Need Help!

Mon May 18, 2020 5:41 am

Thanks For quick response.


If I will upgrade my magic software to performer edition, Is my laptop capable? attache here is my specs of my laptop.


Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 1.38.10 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 1.38.10 PM.png (217.69 KiB) Viewed 408 times
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Mon May 18, 2020 9:38 am

i've just upgraded to performer but still I cannot add midi files into input source...


Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.34.09 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.34.09 PM.png (150.71 KiB) Viewed 403 times



Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.34.09 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.34.09 PM.png (150.71 KiB) Viewed 403 times
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.33.51 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 5.33.51 PM.png (343.48 KiB) Viewed 403 times
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Mon May 18, 2020 2:59 pm

I think the file extension has to be .mid, not .midi
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Need Help!

Mon May 18, 2020 5:22 pm

Hi..


thanks for the help! I Can Now add files with a .mid extension. But I get this result:


Screen Shot 2020-05-19 at 1.10.16 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-19 at 1.10.16 AM.png (352.9 KiB) Viewed 397 times



Is there something I miss? I was expecting to get a result like this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3yPlMc23Q8&t=17s

But Instead I got this result,
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Mon May 18, 2020 7:15 pm

You just have to make sure all the notes are on channel 1 for that file. You would need some kind of MIDI editor to check.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Need Help!

Tue May 19, 2020 7:30 am

they are set to channel 1. but the result are still the same. I don't know about midi editor. any recommendation?
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Tue May 19, 2020 3:53 pm

It looks like you have a Mac; unfortunately I do all my main work on Windows and I don't know any good standalone MIDI editors on Mac. Maybe someone else knows.

But aside from that, any DAW will let you view/edit MIDI: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_audio_workstation#List_of_notable_commercial_DAWs
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Need Help!

Tue May 19, 2020 5:09 pm

Im buying a new pc this coming weeks.... for my bulk editing. I will keep u updated. What are my mistakes in running a midi piano sample project from magic aside from my mac? I got so much things to learn from here...
alanbestdeals
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:24 pm

Re: Need Help!

Wed May 20, 2020 6:50 pm

I'm not sure what you mean. Can you be more specific?
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Return to General Discussion

© 2020 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly