Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:28 pm

I don't remember if it was for this product but was there a video export feature which cost extra? I remember reading about there being an MP4 codec which cost extra. Not sure if it was on this forum.
truthc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:36 am

Re: Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Sat May 25, 2019 11:34 am

Sadler
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Sat May 25, 2019 7:00 pm

Thank you. What is the difference between the two codecs?

I generated a 7 minute 1280 by 720 video at 30 frames per second with the top x264 codec in the drop down menu. The file size went down by about 1/3, from 1.4 GB to 491 MB. The other x264 codec had a slightly larger file size at 640 MB.

I don't know why I couldn't see it before. I looked at the upgrade page. Are you familiar with "dark pattern design"? It all looked like a glitch to me as far as the center was concerned.

Here is a good article illustrating the downside of when design directs our attention.
https://techcrunch.com/2018/07/01/wtf-i ... rn-design/
truthc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:36 am

Re: Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Sat May 25, 2019 9:37 pm

Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Sun May 26, 2019 5:31 pm

Thanks. Why is there such variation in the file size output? Each scene outputs a different file size for the same settings.

Having left the default quality setting of "7" for a seven minute 1280 by 720 resolution video, the first scene file size was around than 491 MB and the second scene over 740 MB. (Note, the 640 MB file is from using the other codec to export the first scene, as stated above.)

Those file sizes mean that an hour long video wouldn't fit on a DVD. Something is not right. The exported file sizes still seem to be too big. Perhaps there are better results when using a different graphics card?
truthc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:36 am

Re: Was there a video export feature that cost extra?

Sun May 26, 2019 6:27 pm

x264 is quality-based. Thus it tries to achieve a certain visual quality. For most people, quality level 7 is perceptually indistinguishable from the source material. So, source material that has more detail will require more data to achieve the same level of quality as source material with less detail, even if the videos are the same length. This is why your file sizes are different.

"Detail" means the amount of spatial and temporal high-frequency information in your video. So, 1) frames with gradual smooth gradients will require much less data than frames with lots of sharp edges; and 2) frames whose content changes very gradually over time require much less data than frames whose content changes rapidly.

If you want smaller file sizes, either choose a lower quality level, or select OpenH264 and enter your desired bitrate. In the latter case, the bitrate will never exceed the value you enter, so you can easily fit your video onto a DVD if that's what you want.

Your graphics card has nothing to do with any of the above.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Return to General Discussion

© 2019 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly