MIDIPiano.magic issues with .mid file

Wed May 15, 2019 3:07 pm

Hello....

I'm working on another project that will benefit greatly from being able to drive animations from .mid files. So, I thought I'd give the sample MIDIPiano project a test run and I've encountered some problems.

Here's what I've done....

1) Starting from a Cakewalk project, I saved it as a MIDI project, then changed the track to a "groove clip" and exported the groove clip using Cakewalk's export dialogue. NOTE... I previously tried just dragging and dropping the MIDI track out of the project into a folder. This created a MIDI file that had no tempo map, so it basically played at some ridiculously high tempo.

2) I opened the MIDIPiano sample project. It works as expected when I set the source to my MIDI controller/keyboard (Roland A800)

3) I imported the .mid groove clip into the project and changed Source 0 to the filename.

4) When I play the project, there is no animation and there is no activity (numbers changing) on any of the Octave scene pages. I have verified that my MIDI project contains notes numbered between at least 57 and 80.

So... is what I'm trying to do possible? I'll bet it's simple if you know what to do.

Also... why am I hearing the MIDI playing a piano (very faintly) l when I play the project? I don't have any audio tracks in the project and there are no soft synths associated with the MIDI track (not even sure you can do that). It was doing the same thing when I was using the tracks that were playing very fast.

I just checked this computer's Mixer applet and I see that there are 2 faders in the Applications section that have headers named after whichever scene tab I have open. There's a tiny bit of audio level showing up there but I can't imagine where it's coming from.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
wjniemi
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: MIDIPiano.magic issues with .mid file

Wed May 15, 2019 3:23 pm

The MIDI file will play through your default MIDI output device. If you don't want this, simply mute the track in the Input Sources window.

... but if you're hearing notes, that's a good thing. It means the notes are in your .mid file somewhere. Make sure you have the right channel selected -- the default is 1 which will work for most situations, but maybe your notes aren't on channel 1. The channel selection box is on the right side of each MIDI source in the Input Sources window.

Overall you should be able to just add your .mid file, assign it to the Source, make sure the right channel is selected, and it will work.

... also, you may want to download the latest Magic Beta (v2.22). The MIDIPiano project is completely updated and much easier to use/understand, thanks to the Iterator module. https://magicmusicvisuals.com/getbeta
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MIDIPiano.magic issues with .mid file

Wed May 15, 2019 3:30 pm

LOL

The MIDI track is on channel 2.

THANK YOU for your super-fast response and for writing this AWESOME software! I'm having a blast with it!

Great community here, too!

Bill
wjniemi
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 7:05 pm

Return to General Discussion

© 2019 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly