Magic

Music Visuals
https://magicmusicvisuals.com/forums/

Spout to NDI for Magic

https://magicmusicvisuals.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1756

Page 1 of 1

Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 3:29 am
by leadedge
Hello Magic people.

The latest update of "Spout to NDI" for NDI Version 3.7 (http://spout.zeal.co/forums/topic/spout ... r-ndi-3-7/) includes sender and receiver modules developed specifically for Magic. Spout is not required for these modules and they will send from and receive to Magic itself.

with Eric's help they appear to work quite well. Keep in mind that setting the sender fps for NDI will also clock the Magic application. This will not have any effect if the sender fps is set to the same as Magic, usually 60 fps, but if it is lower you should select Asynchronous sending as well.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:14 am
by damstraversaz
that's really great ! A very useful option, thanks a lot Lynn for your work. I will try it as soon as possible !

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:43 pm
by Slavi
Hi,

I am sorry for the noob question, but what is different from the Spout we had before that ? What has changed and what can we do more with this improvement ?

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 3:42 pm
by Sadler
NDI stands for Network Device Interface. It allows you to send video over a network so you can have one machine doing some heavy lifting of graphics then sending over a network to another machine to compose and output.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:08 pm
by Slavi
Sadler wrote:NDI stands for Network Device Interface. It allows you to send video over a network so you can have one machine doing some heavy lifting of graphics then sending over a network to another machine to compose and output.

Oh! :oops: All clear now! Thank you!

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:27 am
by leadedge
Spout To NDI Magic modules have been updated for Magic 2.2.
Modules for previous versions of Magic are also included in the distribution zip file.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:48 pm
by ToxMox
Thanks for making this. Works beautifully! :D

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:13 pm
by ToxMox
This stopped working for me. Tried on 2 different PCs. I get the plugins to show up in Magic but the receiver doesn't see any of my NDI sources (even ones on the same PC that show up using any other NDI software). Sender doesn't work either.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:25 pm
by Eric
Hard to say. If NDI is working for other apps, then make sure Magic can get through your firewall. Or try testing Magic on a different computer. Etc. Eliminate variables until you whittle down the problem to its core, you know?

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:30 pm
by ToxMox
Eric wrote:Hard to say. If NDI is working for other apps, then make sure Magic can get through your firewall. Or try testing Magic on a different computer. Etc. Eliminate variables until you whittle down the problem to its core, you know?
Yes I've tried all these things. One machine is a new build. I was thinking maybe the new Windows update borked it. If you tell me it works for you on the latest version of Windows then I'll keep troubleshooting.
The documentation is a little unclear about exactly which files to put where.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:51 pm
by Eric
It works fine on my machine. Windows 10.0.17763

As for files, just make sure that Processing.NDI.Lib.x64.dll is in the same folder as the modules.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:47 pm
by ToxMox
Eric wrote:It works fine on my machine. Windows 10.0.17763

As for files, just make sure that Processing.NDI.Lib.x64.dll is in the same folder as the modules.
Ok I figured it out. If I don't have "Spout Output" checked then the NDI stuff doesn't work. If I enable it then all the NDI stuff magically works.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:43 pm
by Eric
Ok, but that shouldn't be necessary at all. The NDI modules aren't really Spout-related except in name. They don't use any of the same technology that is involved in transferring video between apps using the graphics card.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:18 pm
by ToxMox
Eric wrote:Ok, but that shouldn't be necessary at all. The NDI modules aren't really Spout-related except in name. They don't use any of the same technology that is involved in transferring video between apps using the graphics card.
Ok. I don't know what to tell you. I uncheck it and immediately all the NDI senders and receivers stop working. I enable it and they all start working again.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:25 pm
by Eric
Do you also have Use V2 enabled for Spout in the Magic Window Options menu?

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:30 pm
by ToxMox
Eric wrote:Do you also have Use V2 enabled for Spout in the Magic Window Options menu?
Yes but it doesn't affect anything if I change it.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:45 pm
by ToxMox
Eric wrote:Do you also have Use V2 enabled for Spout in the Magic Window Options menu?

I figured it out. Under Graphics Resolution in the Magic WIndow Options. If you enable Use size of Magic Window it breaks the NDI stuff unless the Spout Output is also enabled.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:50 am
by Eric
Ok that makes sense. So apparently the NDI modules require the graphics resolution to be fixed. Good detective work ;)

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:39 am
by leadedge
Thanks to the methodical testing by ToxMox, I am pretty sure that I have found the problem in the receiver module.

Magic uses an OpenGL framebuffer which needs to be checked for the sender or there is nothing to send. The same check was included for the receiver, although the framebuffer is not used. It happens that a framebuffer is bound when Spout output is enabled and when graphics resolution is fixed. All the development testing was done with Spout output enabled so it always worked.

ToxMox has tested the modified receiver dll and it works OK, so I have updated Spout to NDI :

http://spout.zeal.co/download-spout-to-ndi/

Also the current modules are compiled for NDI version 3.7. Please use the NDI dll provided with the distribution because earlier or later versions will not work.

For future reference, if anybody has problems with these modules then either send me a PM from this forum or post on the Spout forum. Otherwise I don't get any notification.

Cheers to all.

Re: Spout to NDI for Magic

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:37 am
by leadedge
Quick rebuild for the latest NDI Version 3.8. Same download file name. As before, use the NDI dll provided with the distribution.

All times are UTC
Page 1 of 1