Previous topicNext topic

drawing in MMV

Questions, comments, feedback, etc.
Wouter

drawing in MMV

Post by Wouter »

Hi Folks,
I'm completely new to VJ'ing and MMV. I've been digging around for a bit, looking for a solution to my idea. I'll learn all about MMV, but before I dig any deeper, I need to know if my idea can be done! Here it goes:
I'm an illustrator and I would love to create sets of images (maybe a bit of movie too) that can react to music. I'm sure i'll figure out how that can be done.
Here comes the tricky part: in addition I would love to draw and paint directly in the projection, in MMV. I use Photoshop and a Wacom tablet.
Is there a way to integrate photoshop or read and use somehow the signal of the Wacom?
I'm not talking of creating a controller out of my Wacom: In short, I need to be able to paint 'live' on music...
Any ideas? Can this be done?
Sadler

Re: drawing in MMV

Post by Sadler »

Magic
Site Admin

Post by Magic »

If you want to transmit the live drawing directly from Photoshop to Magic, my general recommendation is to use something like ManyCam, which can capture an area of the desktop and then present it as an option in Magic's VideoCapture module: https://manycam.com/help/desktop/
Wouter

Post by Wouter »

O that sounds great! And looks like a handy app I can use for a couple of other ideas, not too expensive...Thanks a lot!
Sadler

Post by Sadler »

Free on giveawayoftheday today is PhotoDonut. Never used it myself but I mention it because it has a node based editor for creating effects (sound familiar?) and it looks like it has an interesting freehand painting mode which will clone from a photo in the chosen brush style.
Wouter

Post by Wouter »

I've managed to record some drawings made in photoshop and these are now short video's! It's great.
Now these are just static, not interacting with music in any way. I've managed to play those video's in MMV, but here is a noob question :oops: