Midi Piano Concerns

Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:59 pm

I'm still trying to get the hang of magic. So any assistance/advice is appreciated. On my mac, I opened the MidiPiano sample project and uploaded a midi file to the project and connected it as the source, however, whenever I play the video, none of the notes are registered by the piano animation. The midi file was generated by Logic Pro X. I checked to made sure that the input was on channel 1. A few weird things I noticed was that the keyboard would completey light up around the minute mark for a little while and would then stop for the remainder of time. Another strange thing was that the video calculated time was over 3 minutes, even though the midi file should play for a minute and a half.
michaeltr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:29 pm

You may try to load your midifile in another DAW or midi player to see if it's valid.
skarabee
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:11 am

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:26 pm

Yes, that's what I'd do. Make sure you see or hear notes on the channel you're using (usually channel 1).
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:32 pm

Eric wrote:Yes, that's what I'd do. Make sure you see or hear notes on the channel you're using (usually channel 1).


Thanks for your response, Eric. I tried that and I couldn't detect anything invalid with the midi file I was using. I opened it up in Finale and nothing seemed incorrect. I figured if something was wrong with the midi file I was using, the Bach midi example that was provided within the sample projects folder should work without fail. However, testing Bach midi example, I still noticed the same issue that I have been experiencing. So I'm scratching my head. Another user in this earlier post https://magicmusicvisuals.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2053&p=9371#p9371 experienced the same issue that I am experiencing by looks of it. I also noticed that he was on a Mac too. I don't know if this helps, but the midi output device is greyed out. However, I don't think that would matter if my only goal is for the keys to be registered piano graphic.
michaeltr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:21 pm

Maybe you can post a link for me to download the midi file so I can test it?
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:42 am

Eric wrote:Maybe you can post a link for me to download the midi file so I can test it?


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KXBBDInSt9bzBquO5A1z2jRxVof-3msL
michaeltr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: Midi Piano Concerns

Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:04 pm

Ok I see what's happening. You must not have any active MIDI input devices on your system. So when you load a MIDI project, it can't find a default MIDI device, and the project doesn't get set up correctly because it thinks you want to use an audio device instead.

An easy fix for this is to run the application on your system called "Audio MIDI Setup", then double-click on "IAC Driver", and then enable the box that says "Device is online". This will create a default MIDI device for your system.

Now when you load a MIDI project in Magic, it will assign the above device, and then you can just swap it to a midi file you import.
Eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:28 pm

Return to General Discussion

© 2020 Color & Music, LLC • This web site is mobile-friendly